Hass Avocado Board Names 2011-12 Term Officers

Jimmy Lotufo Named Hass Avocado Board Chairman

IRVINE, Calif. (November 16, 2011) —The U.S. Department of Agriculture announced new members to the federal Hass Avocado Board (HAB) during the November 10 HAB board meeting. The HAB board of directors then elected officers for a one-year term ending November 2012, including: Jimmy Lotufo, chairman; Jamie Johnson, vice-chairman; Tom Sowden, treasurer; and Bob Schaar, secretary.

HAB Chairman Jimmy Lotufo has served on the HAB since 2006, filling the role of director and treasurer from 2009-2011. Lotufo also serves as a director of the Mexican Hass Avocado Importers Association. An industry veteran of 26 years, Lotufo began his career in produce due to his ability to speak fluent Spanish, which provided international business opportunities with Central and South American imported fruits. He now serves as a Senior Sourcing Representative at Rosemont Farms, a C.H. Robinson company, where he oversees the strategic sourcing and sales strategy development for the company.

“To be elected as chairman of HAB is an honor and I look forward to working with the entire avocado community,” said Lotufo. “Through my time on the HAB board I have seen the avocado category grow in its distribution and popularity. I am excited to lead this diverse group of producers and importers into our second decade as a board as we continue to build growth within the Hass avocado category.”

Lotufo took on the leadership role in supporting the strategic direction of HAB at the November 10 board meeting. He replaces former HAB Chairman Jim Donovan who served as the chairman since 2009.

About the Hass Avocado Board
The Hass Avocado Board (HAB) was established in 2002 to promote the consumption of Hass avocados in the United States. A 12-member board representing domestic producers and importers of Hass avocados directs the HAB’s promotion, research and information programs under supervision of the United States Department of Agriculture. Hass avocados are grown in California and imported into the US from Mexico, Chile, Peru, Dominican Republic and New Zealand.