Schafer Names Members, Alternates to the Hass Avocado Board

USDA News Release No. 0253.08
Jimmie Turner (202) 720-6179
Billy Cox (202) 720-8998

WASHINGTON, Oct. 2, 2008 — Agriculture Secretary Ed Schafer today appointed three producer members, three alternate producer members, two importer members and two alternate importer members to serve on the Hass Avocado Board.

Reappointed to the board are: producer members Ben R. Drake, Temecula, Calif. and Kenneth J. Roth, Vista, Calif.; Kay S. Wild, alternate producer member, Vista, Calif.; importer members James C. Donovan, Ventura, Calif. and Giovanni Cavaletto, Redlands, Calif. and alternate importer members Elena H. Garcia, Chandler, Ariz. and Pilar Charrada, Los Angeles, Calif.

Newly appointed to the board are: Ohannes Z. Karaoghlanian, producer member, Temecula, Calif.; Edward E. Embly, alternate producer member, Escondido, Calif. and Casimir Wyantiec, alternate producer member, Park Ridge, Ill.

The members and alternates will serve three-year terms beginning Nov. 1, 2008 and ending on Oct. 31, 2011.

Authorized under the Hass Avocado Promotion, Research and Information Act of 2000, the board administers a national promotion, research and consumer information program to maintain and expand markets for Hass avocados. USDA’s Agricultural Marketing Service monitors the operations of the board.

More information about research and promotion programs is available at